The first edition of Blue Dolphin of Malta was held back in 1987, in occasion of a very special event; namely the hosting of the 'Confederation Mondiale des Activites Subaquatiques' (CMAS) World Congress in Malta. This was the very first time for Malta (founder member in 1955) to receive such an honour. Competitors came from 42 different countries participated and the winner was Mr John Christopher Fine, a journalist from New York.

The Blue Dolphin of Malta became, and still is a very important and renowned event throughout the international diving community. Every edition has been graced by the presence of internationally known personalities like the late Jacques Mayol, Peter Scoones, Pelizzari, Pipin and many others. 

Among some of the winners:

  • 1987 John C. Fine (USA)
  • 1988 Graziella Ricino (Italy)
  • 1989 Marc De Batty (France)
  • 1990 Andre Ruoppolo (France)
  • 1991 Dennis Barrranger (France)
  • 1992 Marc De Batty (France)
  • 1993 Chris Borg Cardona (Malta)
  • 1994 Settimo Cipriano (Italy)
  • 1995 Michel Pakiela (France)
  • 2002 Michael Spiteri (Malta)
  • 2004 Mario Micallef (Malta

After a break of 13 years, in 2017 the competition was revived with a new format, reflecting the new digital age in underwater photography. The 2017 and following editions were won as follows:

  • 2017 Alfio Scuderi (Italy, Best Picture), Mario Micallef (Malta, Seahorse Class), Loredana Iuranello (Italy, Nudibranch Class)
  • 2018 Jean Raphael Tordoir (France, Best Picture), Antonio Palermo (Italy, Seahorse Class), Rita Rinaldi (Italy - Nudibranch Class)

 The Blue Dolphin of Malta is an excellent opportunity to discover the beauty of the Mediterranean Sea and the marine environment in general. The waters around the Maltese islands are famous for their clear waters, cave and wreck diving.